Historical Evolution

China university of mining and technology (Beijing) is a national key university with mining characteristics, which focuses on engineering and combines science, engineering, culture and management. The School's predecessor was Jiaozuo road mining School founded in 1909. In 1950, the School was moved toTianjin from Jiaozuo and was renamed China mining School

In 1952, the departments of Schools and universities nationwide were adjusted, and the related departments of Tsinghua University, former Beiyang University and Tangshan Railway School were transferred to China Mining School. In 1953, the School moved to Beijing, renamed Beijing School of Mining and Technology, and became one of the eight famous universities at that time. During the Cultural Revolution, the School were severely impacted; after the Cultural Revolution,the School formed a pattern of one School and two places. In 1978, with the approval of the State Council, the Beijing Graduate Department of China Institute of Mining was established on the old site of Beijing Institute of Mining Technology. In July 1997, China University of Mining and Technology (Beijing Campus) was established with the approval of the former State Education Commission and Beijing. In February 2000, the School was placed under the management of the Ministry of Education and became a university directly under the Ministry of Education.

Since its establishment in 1909, the School has been specializing in mining with a history of more than 100 years. In 1933, the department of mining and metallurgy was formally established. In 1952, the department of mining of Beiyang university (Tianjin university) and Tangshan Railway School and Other Universities was merged into the department of mining of China mining universityThe Department of Resources Development Engineering was established on the basis of Geological Committee, Mining Laboratory, Measurement Laboratory, Mine Construction Laboratory, Geotechnical Institute and High Water Institute. In June 2002, it was renamed the School of Resources and Safety Engineering.

In December 2018, due to the need of discipline development, "School of Resources and Safety Engineering" was renamed "School of Energy and Mining Engineering ", in which the safety discipline was established independently.